Since 1982, our club has provided scholarships to deserving students in our area, and our scholarship program has become the focal point of most club activities.

Each year, we invite area high school seniors and NMC students to apply for seven (7) $2,000 scholarships — for those who plan to attend Michigan State University in the fall. Our MSU Grand Traverse Area Alumni Club scholarships are awarded to students from Antrim, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, and Leelanau counties. Scholarships are also available to NMC students who have graduated from these high schools and are transferring to MSU.

Scholarship candidate criteria include: grades and grade point average; ACT or SAT test scores plus school transcript; each student’s school activities and community service, along with her/his interest in attending Michigan State University and future plans following graduation; and, teacher and/or counselor recommendations and comments.

Applications for 2019 are available below or in school guidance counselor offices. Applications MUST be received by March 2, 2019.

Application Process

To use the electronic application, the form must be downloaded to your computer.  After the form has been downloaded to your computer, open the PDF form using a PDF reader, complete the form, and save it to your computer.

Completed applications:

E-mail your completed application AND a copy of your official high school or NMC transcript to
Print and  mail your completed application AND a copy of your official high school or NMC transcript in care of:

Mr. James M. Teahen
MSU Alumni Scholarship
8802 Peninsula Drive
Traverse City, MI 49686


All student applications and official high school or college transcript (along with an explanation about test scores) must be received no later than March 2, 2019.

Start early - finalists in the selection process will be invited to participate in an interview with the scholarship committee during the second week in March.

More Information

Considering MSU?     Freshmen Admission Criteria       College Planning Guide

Past Scholarship Winners
Scholarship Winners 1982-2016